Phonak Solana M H2O trial start with a splash

Now first off I can honestly tell you that the virtually waterproof hearing aid from Phonak is just that.

Not sure if those in charge at Phonak arranged it but my first day with the Solana H2O aid, a flash storm hit while I was running home, the trail was not able to absorb or divert the water off the path way and I got soaked to the bone.

I was forced to cut my run short as the weather check in the morning had not predicted the storm, so I did not pack my wet running gear.  The puddles were well over my ankles and as it was one week out to my race in Vermont, I did not want to risk the pickle effect that the excessive rain would cause and I did what any sensible runner would do. Go to  the nearest pub, try to wring the clothes out, order a pint and call for a pick up.

For the first time I did not have to worry about getting my hearing aid into my ziplock bag I have stashed in my running pack for those “just in case” rainy runs.

The H2O not only kept going but stayed put during the mad dash to the dry harbour know as the West End Grill.

Now just what is the H2O, you ask…its a rather neat hearing aid that Phonak has introduced to the market that is virtually water and dust proof (it hasn’t quit yet, even after I dropped into a full glass of water while I made dinner, just in cause the run in the storm wasn’t taxing enough for the hearing aid seals and yup, she kept working!)

I have worn Phonak in the past so the set up and programming is well-known to me but I did use the quick fit option for the first week as I did with the Widex aid. One modification that I did do, was to heat up the tubing so that I could get a more comfortable fit. I find the tubing to be a bit thick, not very flexible and uncomfortable without the quick heat to customize the form of the aid to my ear.

Phonak uses a wireless system called the iCube for those who want to program the hearing aid without wires and I must admit, I like this better than the Widex wireless option (it has a hard, fixed loop while the Phonak system is flexible and more user-friendly for getting over the clients head)

Now for a bit of technical info for those who want it:

My H2O is a Phonak Solana H2O

I am using a  slim tube (55/126) it is billed as an  “Advanced Water-Resistant” hearing aid,  and takes a size 13/orange battery.

The H2O aid must be checked every year at a Phonak repair/manufacturing facility to ensure that the seals stay intact.

For those who use an FM system there are few things to consider if you want to keep the level of water resistance at a maximum, you must use the design integrated FM boot.

…and lastly when using the H2O in water if the air flow is interrupted or cut off from the batteries, they can lose the ability to power the aid and have to be exchanged for a fresh battery and if chemicals are present in the water , the aid must be rinsed in clean fresh water and dried off to prevent the chemicals causing the breakdown of the seals.

I have my aid paired with an iCom remote and streaming devices which I will be honest, I do not foresee me using much as I do not like to carry remotes with me as I tend to be on foot, not in my car.

Off to run around some more now that the rain is back again.

 

“All the sounds of the earth are like music.” -Oscar Hammerstein II

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Phonak Solana M H2O trial start with a splash

  1. I have fun with, result in I found just what I used to be
    looking for. You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man.

    Have a nice day. Bye

Leave a comment